4 Comments

Indeed, VERY frustrating! My elderly father with Parkinson's disease helps lead a regional group for others living with the disease and their family members, caretakers, etc. He received a large donation from an affluent family friend to construct a building to serve as a local meeting, educational, and recreation space for the Parkinson's community. He reaches out to me from time to time for advice on things like accessibility and inclusion, and this is one of the areas I was trying to assist him with... making the physical space inclusive for all kinds of disabilities (which are generally higher in the Parkinson's community since it affects more people as they get older and so many other disabilities come along for the ride). But I'm a far cry from being an architect or interior designer, so I was limited in the advice I could give, and when I tried to find what scant formal literature exists, paywalls like this were ubiquitous!

Expand full comment
Sep 13, 2023Liked by Jaime Hoerricks, PhD

This is one of those "no good answer" dilemmas, I think. This particular example seems egregious; surely they could make it more affordable. I would like to see us (on a societal level) grapple with the conundrum of how to both compensate authors (and all other producers of "public service" type art and media) equitably for their work, while still making it accessible to the people who need it the most - many of whom cannot afford to pay for it. The big answer, of course, is to dismantle capitalism, but that isn't realistically going to happen anytime soon. We need more community-based solutions that aren't beholden to capitalist interests.

Expand full comment
Sep 13, 2023Liked by Jaime Hoerricks, PhD

Hey Jim, that article looks interesting, and I feel your pain. I found a free copy of the article: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/00400599231171715?casa_token=egMJ1tmW92oAAAAA:XcuEgZ_KahzD0Pco48JH9n8-CSyJQuxXd2bfaggVApbztpZ3DAWDlzbKPUX5kqnkXRGvar9gfuVq I also wrote a post about how to find free copies of research journal articles, which will come out next Monday. You can preview it here: https://open.substack.com/pub/mosaicofmindss/p/how-to-beat-the-paywall?r=1ffi0&utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web Enjoy!

Expand full comment
author

thank you :)

Expand full comment