2 Comments

In my experience, the more a company touts their neuroinclusion efforts and promotes the importance of psychological safety in the work place, the bigger and brighter the red flag should be. No trauma cuts as deep as the trauma inflicted by working for such a two-faced organization. In the end, when you can no longer be exploited like an obedient worker bee, they will cut you loose with the ghastly smile of the betrayer. If we want inclusion, the oppressive capitalist system itself must be dismantled.

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2023Liked by Jaime Hoerricks, PhD

The stress of having to mask heavily while also learning a complex role with many moving parts lead me to first suspect that I might be on the spectrum. All while dealing with the awful fluorescent lights beating down on me like in an interrogation room, being expected to just resume tasks after being interrupted (and not being able to explain that it took me half an hour to get in the flow and it’ll take another half hour to get back to where I was), and interpreting the subtext of “professional” doublespeak. Ugh.

Expand full comment