4 Comments

The U.S. education system failed my autistic children so miserably in spite of, or perhaps because of, IEPs. Nothing can ever make up for the lasting and likely lifelong harm inflicted on them. My only regret is I didn't pull my oldest kid out of school like I did with my youngest, who I wholeheartedly allowed to drop out his sophomore year. He started a successful art business at the age of 15. Both of my kids are highly intelligent and artistically talented, but struggled so badly with mental health and abuse in school. With my youngest, I'm just glad I finally grew a spine and withdrew him before he ended up dead or permanently disabled from the toxic school environment. He went from being a suicidal inpatient on an obscene number of psychiatric meds to being a happy, free, and entirely unmedicated young man. It was school causing his extreme mental distress all along, and this was years before the pandemic. I can only imagine how badly kids today must be suffering in the compulsory American "education" system of today.

Expand full comment
author

I homeschooled all of my kids from the beginning.

Expand full comment

I wish that could have been an option for me as a financially struggling and deeply depressed undiagnosed autistic divorced mother.

Expand full comment

I’m so sorry you and your kids went through this and glad to see how your older son thrived after leaving school.

Expand full comment