5 Comments

Given that it’s often hard to find words to explain things and that insights often come as a gestalt experience, it makes sense that art can be an effective way for autistics to express themselves. Have you ever tried using art in this way?

Expand full comment
author

Not exactly this way, but my first go at living independently in the 80’s/90’s was as a commercial artist.

Expand full comment

Cool! If you don’t mind me asking, how do you teach as you’re non verbal?

Expand full comment
author

Non-verbal isn’t the same as non-vocal or non-speaking. Non-verbal is a simpler way of describing gestalt language processors. I often support myself in my classes with pre-written scripts. I don’t read them necessarily, but they help me solidify the gestalts I’ll use during class. They have an added benefit of supporting my language learners. I’ll put them through the translator and share them directly with my ELLs.

Expand full comment

Fascinating! I haven’t attended classes since 1985; there are so many ways of teaching now, which is great since there are so many types of learners.

Expand full comment