The AutSide
The AutSide Podcast
Episode 1 - The Science of Reading
0:00
-6:54

Episode 1 - The Science of Reading

An interesting experiment with Google's NotebookLM

I’m trying out some new technology. As you know, I don’t like podcast appearances because of the language demands given the way my brain processes such experiences. Here, Google has released NotebookLM for beta. It’s like an AI research assistant. But there is one feature that’s pretty cool so far. It takes your notes and creates an audio overview as an interview between two people. It took a while to get the inputs correct, but here’s the result of my initial tests.

Here on Substack, the platform generates a transcript of the audio track. This is another great feature. Because all such platforms us LLMs (AI) to perform this task, people like me (thick foreign accents) can’t use them. The platform’s AI can’t handle anything beyond standard English. The audio from NotebookLM is in standard English, so the transcript generation process is quite smooth.

Let me know if you like this feature.

The AutSide is a reader-supported publication. To support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

The AutSide
The AutSide Podcast
Autism research, opinion, and news from an autistic point of view.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jaime Hoerricks, PhD